Monotony

Have you ever noticed that we spend so much of our time in pointless routines. I never thought I would talk about this, because I always thought I was a very spontaneous guy. I just live in the moment. Then I had something that I would call an “Out of this world Experience”.

I might have to go back a little  and explain it to you. There is this Vietnamese sandwich place on Washington Avenue. The place has a whole lot of sandwich options and they are pretty reasonably priced, but that is not the point of the story here. The point is that I’m vegetarian. I’m a vegetarian because I was raised vegetarian. I like it, and I think it is a healthier diet. Okay, back to the story. There are only two vegetarian options at the sandwich place, Mock Duck and Tofu. I used to alternate between the two every time I went there, and I ate there often. The greeter at the restaurant knows me by my first name and she knows what I eat. I went there the other day and ordered Mock duck, and the greeter said, “You ate Mock duck yesterday, it’s Tofu day today”. Life doesn’t get any more monotonous than that. When a greeter at a sandwich bar knows what you eat. I eat at Chipotle now, but that is getting a bit monotonous too. If you guys know a great place to eat around the university area, then please leave a comment below. I was watching a movie the other day, actually I watch a movie almost every day, and I realized that even that is a routine. How many movies can a guy really watch. Netflix is running out of recommendations for me.

I would like to end this blog post with a link to a photograph. There is nothing much to it, it is the most recent change that happened in my life, plus i wanted to get more hits to my flickr page 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Monotony”

  1. NM Says:

    I know a place with great stuffed mushrooms. But you do not come there often. =)
    Recently I noticed a lot of vegetarian options in Shuang Cheng restaurant in Dinkytown.

    • harshavadlamani Says:

      Well, I guess I can go to the place with stuffed mushrooms, but I am hoping I don’t have to cook the mushrooms myself:). Shuang Cheng is nice. Like the place, but I never have more then 15 minutes for lunch, so I can’t go there for lunch

  2. Abhishek Says:

    I beg to differ on the *healthier diet* point.
    and regarding the monotonous life issue, u have GPGT to take care of that 🙂

  3. Abhishek Says:

    get together .. this term was coined by Venkatesh on 10/3/2010

  4. Harsha Says:

    What about feeling proud and showing off that the waiter/greeter actually remembers you and your order as an indication of your popularity – I’ve known so many of such people, back from India esp. I’ve been guilty of the same at times I guess, and now that you remind me of my sad existence, thank you 😦

Leave a Reply

